Faith, Other

Pay Attention

God really does speak to us. We just need to pay attention. In my current Bible Study the memory verse this week is a new favorite of mine:

“My son, pay attention to what I say, listen to my words carefully.  Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body.” ~ Proverbs 4:20-22

Over the last year I have learned to really listen and pay attention to what God is saying to us. Mostly from his words in the Bible which is the most important book you will ever own. It is our instruction book for life. Everything we will or have ever faced is in this book. Studying and really learning what God is telling us is so crucial to our lives!! I have been doing some reflection lately on the words I say and how powerful they are. Over the past few weeks God has really been trying to show me the importance of my words. Just to show you how God has been working in my life involving my words, here are some things I have run into (and not by accident my friend)!!

I had been part of planning my 15 year class reunion and there were many people with negative comments.  There were many things I wanted to say back to them but God reminded me that I really need to be careful with what I say.  I need to make sure that the words I say reflect who I am and not just spew out a few words that I think will make me feel better.  I actually felt better by not saying anything!!

Lather I came across a blog which talked about using your words in a kind way and not to hurt others!!!

Then my devotion a few days later was about words.

I just kept running into talk about how to use my words.

You see God was talking to me and reminding me that the things we say are more than just words, they can make or break you and they can hurt or help others.  We need to be very careful and we MUST think before we speak.

God teaches us exactly how to behave.  We must listen and truly listen, then do what we have heard.

“But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person.”

~Matthew 15:18

“I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak.”

~Matthew 12:36

“Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.”

~Proverbs 16:24

“But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth.”

~Colossians 3:8

May God bless you in all you do and SAY if you are obedient and you turn your life over to God!  Have an amazing weekend:)

