What…Organization??

Organize

Organization?

What is that?

What language are you speaking?

Organization is something I strive for but rarely get. I have some really great ideas in my head but when it comes down to actually being organized those are just dreams!

Organized

Since having my own home based business and since I started blogging from home I have learned a few things:

  • Being organized is a lot of work!!
  • Being organized takes a lot of time!!
  • Being organized is exhausting!!!
  • Being organized is just not for me!!!

Wait, what?

Okay I am not a huge fan of being organized or should I say becoming organized!  I am working on this daunting task little by little.  My cousin, Jessi would laugh at me right now because this is an area in which we are complete opposites!!  She loves lists and I make them and lose them.  She can go through her day on schedule and I forgot where I put my schedule.  She has a nice neat home with everything in its place and I have a home that has stuff in it somewhere!!

Not organized

All joking aside I know that being organized is very important especially if working from home.

So since I mentioned that I have learned a few things I would like to share with you what I have really learned and what I am in the process of changing as we speak.

First and probably the most important step is to be prepared.  I know what areas of my home I need to get organized and into place so I need to prioritize these areas into what I want to work on first.  Then I need to have a plan and create steps.  Then (for me) I need to break each step into smaller steps so I can have a plan for what I need to do each day and even what I need to do during the day to accomplish my goals.

Now that sounds really complicated but I can tell you from personal experience that it is much easier than you think even if you get easily distracted like I do!

images

One of my favorite apps on my phone is a planning/organizing/cleaning tool.  It is called Cozi from Fly Lady  which you can check out here http://www.flylady.net!

It also has a web version but I need to take it with my so I prefer the app.  The features it has are:

Calendar Cozi calendar

Shopping  Cozi shopping

To Do Cozi to do

Journal Cozi journal

and if you purchase the Gold package: Contacts and Birthdays.

I use it to put  in all of my appointments, keep track of my grocery list and know what my to do items are!

One of my favorite features of the calendar is what the Fly Lady adds to it each and every day.  In just 15-30 minutes each day can really get a lot accomplished!  She has each week set aside to clean  one section of your home.  Then each day she breaks down the section into small tasks in order to get that area done in a weeks time.  See below so you can understand my mumbling!!

Cozi weekly cleaning

This is the weeks section which she breaks down into Zones-Master Bedroom

Cozi daily cleaning

Today is Mission #1 of Zone 4 (Master Bedroom)

Cozi daily cleaning 2

This section I couldn’t get in one screenshot but it explains exactly what to do.

Cozi daily cleaning 3I

I am one who needs someone to just break it down and tell me what to do.  It can’t get any clearer than that.

Now I can know what I need to do each day, what groceries I need to buy when I go to the store, where I need to be and when, and exactly what I need to clean today to keep my house in tip top shape!!!

I hope you all find something useful in this post but I also LOVE ideas or tips on how to stay (or become) organized so please share with me your thoughts, ideas and tips!!!

Comments are closed.