Day 1: My Consistent Plan

Day 1 of the 31 Days of Consistency & Children is here!

images (12)

My goal for this challenge is to become consistent with my children.  My husband and I have four children and we are very busy.  I work two part time jobs outside of the home, I have a home based craft business, I am working on building my blog so I can work from home full time, I have little ones to take care of and run all over and I try to keep the house in order.  My husband works full time outside of the home and is self employed with a scrap metal business that he runs from our home.  We also have an outdoor wood burner which means we cut a LOT of wood to keep us warm in the winter.  We live in Iowa so the winters can be pretty chilly!  We seem to stay very busy and at times that is not good when one is trying to create consistency or routines.

I am not, nor have I ever been, good with setting routines. I can picture in my mind they way a morning or evening routine should go but then I get home to the chaos and out the window that thought goes!!

From everything I have read, heard and been told you must have a plan first and foremost.  Lets get a plan in place!

images (1)

I love books even though I don’t get a lot of time to read.  One of my current favorite books (I am not finished with it yet, but almost) is Say Goodbye to Survival Mode by Crystal Pain.  I am a very huge fan of hers and I have been following her blog for about a year now.  She is all about living intentional, saving money and building a business from home.  You can check her out at Money Saving Mom.  This is truly one of the most amazing blogs I have seen!!

I don’t want to give away what’s in her book because I really believe you should just go out an get your own copy, but I will lay out a few things I have learned and started to implement along with other things I have done.

The best place to start is to figure out what your priorities are.  What are the most important things to you?  What do you want out of your day or routine?  How do you envision your day going?  What part of the day is the most chaotic?  Lay it all out on paper and then put them in order from the most important to the least important.  Now this might be hard (as it was for me) but it is a crucial step.

Once you have that all laid out it will give you an idea of what to concentrate on.  I would suggest that you just add one small change to your day at first which is where I am going to start.  I always say “I don’t have time to do that!” or “when will I find the time to do that?”  Once I laid my priorities out and could see what I actually spend my time doing I realized that I do have time.  Which brings me to the next step.

What do you want to add or change to your daily routine?  I want to add a morning routine!  After listing my priorities and figuring out what I want to see added this is what I cam up with for a morning routine.

1.Get Up/Pray/Bible Time

2. Exercise/Shower/Get Dressed

3.Check Email/Blog

4.  Get Kids Up and Dressed

5. Get Kids on Bus!

Now I know that most of that list is about me but in order to become consistent with my kids and set routines for them I have to start with me first.  I am going to continue to read Crystal Paine’s book for more great ideas and help on getting things in order!

Stay tuned for tomorrows post.

images (20)

I want to hear about your plans and how you get your priorities and routines lined up!!!

Comments are closed.