Cleaning/Organization, Faith, Other, Parenting

Day 3: Dinner Time

Day 3 of the 31 Days of Consistency & Children!

images (14)

Today is our schools homecoming so everyone is full of school spirit and all decked out in our best blue and white!! Go Cadets!!!!!

unnamed

Okay sorry back to consistency and children.

I picked clothes out last night and that felt good.  I am trying to get as much ready the night before as possible so the morning can go smoothly.  So far so good but we are only on day 3.  I better not jump ahead of myself!

I would like to share a routine that we have already established. Yay me!!  This 31 day challenge has gotten me thinking and I realized last night that we do have one routine that we have done consistently for the past 5 years.

Let me tell you a little back story.  About 15 years ago my husband and I bought a VERY small house.  This place was tiny!  We did not have enough room for a table in our kitchen and we not have a dining room.  At that time our oldest daughter was a baby and my husband worked a job that required him to be gone all week.  I would feed my daughter in her high chair and I usually ate in the living when watching TV.  We lived there for 5 years.

We moved to a house that was a little bigger but still not much room. We had a kitchen but no dining room again and the kitchen was small. We had a tiny table but my husband was still gone all week it was just my daughter and I.  Then I became pregnant with our second daughter.  I was very sick though this pregnancy so I just let my daughter eat in the living room which continued even after the birth of our second baby.

I really wanted meal time to be different but bad habits are hard to break.  We lived in that house for 5 years.  So 5 years ago we moved into our current house which is much bigger than our first two homes.

We have a dining room!!!!!!!

We have a big table!!!!!!!!

And yes, you guessed it, we eat meals together at the table!!!!!!

We eat almost all of our meals together as a family.  My husband no longer works a job that requires him to be gone all week, thank goodness.  That would be a nightmare with four little people!

Not only do we eat together but we have also incorporated prayer into our routine.  We hold hands and pray asking Jesus to join us and to bless our food.  The kids will even remind us if we start to eat without praying.  I love this tradition we have started and instilled in our children!  I pray this will be carried with them into their adult lives!

untitled

Even if you don’t realize it you may already have small habits or routines that you are doing with your kids. What routine are you already doing??

