Faith, Marriage, Other, Parenting

Day 10: Bedtime Please

Day 10 of 31 Days of Consistency & Children

used

What does your nighttime routine look like?

Do you have one?

Do you even know what that means?

I would like to say that we have one and it is amazing and it goes ever so smoothly BUT that would be a lie.

Mine can be pretty chaotic which is why we are trying to get a good evening/bedtime schedule down.  We had done good for awhile but then I took on a part time job outside of the home.  This job required me to only be gone a few nights a week but my hours are from about 6 pm-9 pm so as you can imagine this tends to put a damper on the routine.

My husband and I have an idea of what we want that to look like.  Let me lay out our goal for each evening.

~6:00 pm~ Supper

~6:30-7:00 pm~ Clear table, dishes (each person helps), clean kitchen

~7:00-7:30 pm~ Pick out clothes, gather PJ’s, bath time

~7:30-8:30 pm~ Quiet time, read books, finish homework (if not done already)

~8:30 pm~ BEDTIME!!!!

I don’t understand why this is so hard for us to stick to!!  It feels so good to follow through and the next morning seems to go smoother.  Why is that not enough to continue the next night and the night after that??

Part of the problem is that my husband has to take over all of the above when I am working.  The other part of the problem is that we are selfish and want to do our own thing.  I know this is terrible but it is the truth and it is easy to fall into our own things that all of a sudden it is 8:30 and the only thing done is supper:(

Our goal is to forgot our own agenda and concentrate on the kids until they go to bed at 8:30 then we can do our stuff!!  Lets see how that goes:)

What does your evening look like? With or without kids, do you have a routine for the evening/bedtime?  Any advice would be welcomed as well!!

