Day 18: Honesty

Day 18 of 31 Days of Consistency & Children

used

Honesty is very important! Honesty builds character. Honesty builds trust. Honesty builds relationships.

Why is that a hard concept? Honesty should come natural to us. That is what I try and teach my kids anyway.

One thing that is not accepted in our house is lying!!! I am constantly preaching, “You will be in more trouble if you lie to me than if tell me the truth! ” We can work through the truth but I will not tolerate lying. If you messed up or made a mistake, fess up and let’s see what we can do to avoid doing the same thing next time. The same goes for me and my husband. I am the first to admit that I messed up. As well, If I do something wrong, tell me so I can fix it!!

This appears to be the opposite of how the world works. The world accepts lying and doing whatever we have to do to get what we need. How messed up is that?!?!

According to Philippians 4:8 – 4:9…

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things [are] honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things [are] pure, whatsoever things [are] lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if [there be] any virtue, and if [there be] any praise, think on these things.
Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.”

Does this sound like the ways of the world? I think not!!

So what do we do?

Lynn Cowell is one of my favorite speakers from Proverbs 31 Ministries. “Lynn Cowell is a speaker and author whose passion is helping our generation become wise women who raise wiser daughters.”

Since our oldest daughter is 15 and our next child is an 8 year old daughter I really enjoy her ideas!!

My best suggestion is to pray consistently and teach our kids with scripture and by modeling how we want our kids to live!!

What do you think? Comment with your thoughts and suggestions!

God Bless, Crystal

Comments are closed.